Westminster 2017 Wrap-up; Rumor Wins Best In Show

The 141st Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show wrapped up a little before midnight, Tuesday. Best in Show went to a stunning five year old German Shepherd dog named Rumor. She was runner up last year or Reserve Best in Show. But she came back this year to take the title. Rumor had a noble expression and lively athletic gait. She deserved the crown! It was only the second time in Westminster history that a German Shepherd has won Best in Show.

Our family has a fondness for this breed. Our first and most perfect pet was our beautiful Pedigree German Shepherd dog named Rintintin.

The other group winners competing were the Boxer, a crowd favorite, the Miniature Poodle, the Norwegian Elkhound, the Norwich Terrier and adorable Chuckie, the Pekinese.

Some of the highlights from Monday night included a group three win for Sonnito, the Smooth Coat Chihuahua, the most winning Chihuahua of all time. He has won the breed at Westminster three years in a row. A very exiting achievement for Chihuahua fanciers!

The crowds this year were bigger than ever as were the entries. It never gets old for me. Being around all of the beautiful dogs is always a thrill.

I did feel a little nostalgic, I missed the excitement a bit. I did not enter a dog myself. (Rocky is retired now.) I have to admit however, it is much more relaxing being a spectator than an exhibitor

The Empire State Building was dressed in purple and gold lights to honor the most famous dog show in the world, always a breathtaking sight, NYC loves their dogs.

This is our 17th year of watching Best in Show in Madison Square Garden, a family tradition we cherish. It is and always will be a very special time of year!

Hound Group Winner:
GCh. Ch. Vin-Melca’s Daggarwood Delight, a Norwegian Elkhound known as “Duffy,” owned by Patrica V Trotter.

Toy Group Winner:
GCHB Ch. Pequest Pickwick, a Pekingese known as “Chuckie,” owned by David Fitzpatrick.

Non-Sporting Group Winner:

GCHB Ch. Danfour Avalon As If, a Miniature Poodle known as “Aftin,” owned by Daniel Chavez, James Moses, & Janet Moses.

Herding Group Winner:
GCh. Ch. Lockenhaus’ Rumor Has It V Kenlyn, a German Shepherd Dog known as “Rumor,” owned by Deborah Stern, Pamela Buckles, Patti Dukeman, Pam McElheney and Kent Boyles.

Sporting Group Winner:

GCh. Ch. Vermilion’s Sea Breeze, an Irish Setter known as “Adrian,” owned by Sandra Nordstrom, Bruce and Mary Foote.

Working Group Winner:
GCh. Ch. Mephisto’s Speak Of The Devil, a Boxer known as “Devlin,” owned by Mrs. Jack Billhardt and Sergio Tenenbaum.

Terrier Group Winner:
GChS. Ch. Taliesin Twice As Nice, a Norwich Terrier known as “Tanner,” owned by Lisa Sons.

Best in Show Winner:
GCh. Ch. Lockenhaus’ Rumor Has It V Kenlyn, a German Shepherd Dog known as “Rumor,” owned by Deborah Stern, Pamela Buckles, Patti Dukeman, Pam McElheney and Kent Boyles.

BEST IN SHOW WINNERS BY BREED [complete details]
2017: German Shepherd Dog
2016: German Shorthaired Pointer
2015: Beagle (15 Inch)
2014: Wire Fox Terrier
2013: Affenpinscher
2012: Pekingese
2011: Scottish Deerhound
2010: Scottish Terrier
2009: Sussex Spaniel
2008: Beagle (15 Inch)
2007: English Springer Spaniel
2006: Bull Terrier (Colored)
2005: German Shorthaired Pointer
2004: Newfoundland
2003: Kerry Blue Terrier
2002: Poodle (Miniature)
2001: Bichon Frise
2000: English Springer Spaniel
1999: Papillon
1998: Norwich Terrier
1997: Standard Schnauzer
1996: Clumber Spaniel
1995: Scottish Terrier
1994: Norwich Terrier
1993: English Springer Spaniel
1992: Wire Fox Terrier
1991: Poodle (Standard)
1990: Pekingese
1989: Doberman Pinscher
1988: Pomeranian
1987: German Shepherd Dog
1986: Pointer
1985: Scottish Terrier
1984: Newfoundland
1983: Afghan Hound
1982: Pekingese
1981: Pug
1980: Siberian Husky
1979: Irish Water Spaniel
1978: Yorkshire Terrier
1977: Sealyham Terrier
1976: Lakeland Terrier
1975: Old English Sheepdog
1974: German Shorthaired Pointer
1973: Poodle (Standard)
1972: English Springer Spaniel
1971: English Springer Spaniel
1970: Boxer
1969: Skye Terrier
1968: Lakeland Terrier
1967: Scottish Terrier
1966: Wire Fox Terrier
1965: Scottish Terrier
1964: Whippet
1963: English Springer Spaniel
1962: West Highland White Terrier
1961: Poodle (Toy)
1960: Pekingese
1959: Poodle (Miniature)
1958: Poodle (Standard)
1957: Afghan Hound
1956: Poodle (Toy)
1955: Bulldog
1954: Cocker Spaniel (A.S.C.O.B.)
1953: Doberman Pinscher
1952: Doberman Pinscher
1951: Boxer
1950: Scottish Terrier
1949: Boxer
1948: Bedlington Terrier
1947: Boxer
1946: Wire Fox Terrier
1945: Scottish Terrier
1944: Welsh Terrier
1943: Poodle (Miniature)
1942: West Highland White Terrier
1941: Cocker Spaniel (Black)
1940: Cocker Spaniel (Black)
1939: Doberman Pinscher
1938: English Setter
1937: Wire Fox Terrier
1936: Sealyham Terrier
1935: Poodle (Standard)
1934: Wire Fox Terrier
1933: Airedale Terrier
1932: Pointer
1931: Wire Fox Terrier
1930: Wire Fox Terrier
1929: Collie (Rough)
1928: Wire Fox Terrier
1927: Sealyham Terrier
1926: Wire Fox Terrier
1925: Pointer
1924: Bootlegger
1923: * No Award Given
1922: Airedale Terrier
1921: Cocker Spaniel (Parti-Color)
1920: Wire Fox Terrier
1919: Airedale Terrier
1918: Bull Terrier (White)
1917: Wire Fox Terrier
1916: Wire Fox Terrier
1915: Wire Fox Terrier
1914: Old English Sheepdog
1913: D Bulldog
1912: Airedale Terrier
1911: Scottish Terrier
1910: Smooth Fox Terrier
1909: Smooth Fox Terrier
1908: Smooth Fox Terrier
1907: Smooth Fox Terrier

There was no BEST IN SHOW award in 1923. The American Kennel Club barred interbreed competition for 1923 except in the Miscellaneous Class. Comprehensive new rules for Group & Best in Show judging were adopted effective for 1924.


Does Your Dog Like You?
Is Holistic Care Right for Your Pet?